The Chronicles Of My Consciousness

Janice M. Flanders
4 min readMar 5, 2022

What fascinates me is when I observe people living while being unconscious.

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

CHILDHOOD

I grew up running around outside, playing with my sisters in the backyard. I have joyous memories of tree climbing, running around barefoot in the grass, eating fruit from our trees. A warmth comes over me even now as I write this.

I look back on this as an adult. That time was so profound for me because I was conscious of my existence. Every bird’s chirp, every cloud dragon that rolled across the sky, every ant-hill I hopped over, filled me with gratitude. Being a child, I did not process consciousness in that way. I was simply playing and having fun.

SCHOOL YEARS

I was a good student and made good grades, yet I hated school. I was painfully conscious that I was uncomfortable and felt out of place. Teenage angst was not a thing then (lol), so I had to bear my unwelcome cross of emo-ness until I got to senior high school. It was there that I met my people. I joined the school marching band ( I played clarinet) and was welcomed by a group of nerdy musicians. I had genuine fun. We all accepted each other, and I was again conscious that I enjoyed life as I knew it.

--

--

Janice M. Flanders

Writer/Journalist. Artist. Environmental Justice Advocate. Social Media Analyst. Friend to the Planet and it’s creatures. I love words, birds, and nerds.